The Florence Fifteen

The food here.

IMG_5849

Oh lord, the food here.

I finally started to work off my freshman 15 and now I’m tempted with the smell of amazing italian food everywhere i go every single day. Shoooot

After a honey moon period of consuming carbo-loaded meals every day this week, I stepped on the breaks a bit this weekend. I excercised alot and started eating less carbs and more veggies & protein. I’m making it a priority to not let myself go over here!  I havn’t gotten a chance to check out the FUA gym yet because they have kind of weird hours but I’m definitly going to be hitting that up daily. I’m not trying to show up to softball in January out of shape!!

This weekend I worked off some pizza, pasta and gelato and explored Firenze at the same time. On Saturday we first took a walk to the produce market and stocked up on fruits, veggies & eggs. Then we went hiking up to Piazzale Michelangelo. The piazza is elevated to provide a breathtaking panoramic view of the beautiful city of Florence! Of course, I lugged my Canon with me to get some pictures of the journey:

IMG_6059IMG_6122IMG_6153

IMG_6186

Saturday night was lengend-waitforit-dary. We wanted to experience how italians “go out” so we went out with some Florence natives we know. We went to SPACE, the club Jersey Shore frequently hit up when they filmed in Florence. We normally wouldn’t have chose to follow in the footsteps of Snooki & J.Woww, but our friends are VIP there so hey, why not! We got that ~*ViP tR3AtMenT*~ aka didnt have to pay a dime the whole night and got to chill in a seperate glass room above everyone….watching over all the funny drunken people below us. Swag.

1176303_541498202582739_1140271189_n

After a long night/morning out, I woke up on Sunday and made a tomato and mozz sandwich on a croissant with the fresh ingrediants I had bought at the farmers market. After that I laced my keys into my sneakers and went for a run down the Arno river which is located just a block away from my apartment. I ran all the way down to the Ponte Della Vittoria and then back through the city. It was probably a bad idea to run back through the city because cars and motorcycles drive so fast and unpredictable around here. I also got made fun of/mocked by an obnoxious tourist.  It’s so weird because when I run in Boston no one acknowledges me because there are so many runners around….but here in Florence it seems that no one works out. It’s confusing….They live on a diet of carbs carbs and carbs- yet I passed just one jogger on my run! ONE! In Boston I pass about 50 per mile! So strange.

Well, anyways- I ran around sunset so i had a gorgeous view of the Arno as I ran:

1229869_10151644020751379_1955547056_n

Aaaand thats the story of my first weekend in Florence!

xoxoPWAGOR (lol)

Leave a Reply

